The daydream about the small town Main Street

September 3, 2009

Handmade summer-dress made of cotton from Canvasco.

Handmade summer-dress made of cotton from Canvasco.

I’d wear this on a sultry July late-afternoon in small town Iowa.  Me, my ice cream cone, and I would end up with sun-burned shoulders as we strolled down a burning hot Main Street sidewalk and stood for minutes at a time in front of store windows.   At the town square, I’d lose, gracefully, a round of cakewalk and then I’d dance to an enthusiastic Beatles cover band.  The assistant librarian/lemonade stand vendor would give me a glass of lemonade with plenty of ice.

Leave a Reply

