The daydream about the daughter

August 31, 2009

Vintage blue dress with flutter sleeves from Jenness87

Vintage blue dress with flutter sleeves from Jenness87

I’d walk into the orphanage wearing this dress.  The walls would be bare and institutional white.  The floors would be hardwood and shining; rows of cots would line each wall and there, sitting on her bed and besmudged with marker ink, there would be my new daughter.  My ten year old lovely one, the one with her hair in two braids, she’d smile at me, recognizing instantly that I would be beautiful and kind, and that afternoon we’d go boating on the lake behind my house.

Leave a Reply

